Article III (Officers) Section 5
Terms of Offices

The term of office of the Chair of the Faculty Senate will be two years; the term of office of the Vice-Chair, Secretary, and Parliamentarian will be one year. The election of the Chair of the Faculty Senate will be held at the April meeting of the Faculty Senate in alternating years. The election of the other officers will be held at the May meeting of the Faculty Senate of each academic year. In the event that the Vice-Chair, Secretary, or Parliamentarian cannot complete their term of office, a call will be made for nominees to complete the current term with the elections to be held at least two weeks and no more than four weeks following the call for nominations.

## Article III. Sections 1 and 2

## 1. Chair of the Senate

The Chair of the Faculty Senate is elected from among the voting members of the Faculty Senate. The Chair shall preside over all meetings of the Faculty Senate. The Chair will represent UTSA at the UT System Faculty Advisory Council. The Chair's position as his/her unit's representative will be filled by an alternate who will serve the remainder of the Chair's term. The Chair will vote on actions in the Senate only in the case of a tie. The Chair may serve no more than two consecutive terms. However, multiple, non-consecutive terms are allowed. Additionally, the immediate Past Chair is not eligible for the position. The Secretary of the General Faculty is eligible to serve as Chair so long as the terms of office for the two positions will not overlap.

## 2. Vice-Chair

The Vice-Chair is elected from among the voting members of the Faculty Senate, and remains a voting representative of his/her academic unit. If the Chair is unable to complete his or her term of office, then the Vice Chair will assume the Chair's duties for the remainder of the Vice-Chair's term of office, and his or her academic unit will be directed to elect an alternate for the remainder of his or her term as Faculty Senator. A new Chair of the Faculty Senate will be elected, if necessary, at the next scheduled election. The Vice-Chair may serve no more than four consecutive terms. However, multiple, non-consecutive terms are allowed. Additionally, the Chair and immediate Past Chair are not eligible for the position of Vice-Chair. The Secretary of the General Faculty is eligible to serve as Vice-Chair so long as the terms of office for the two positions will not overlap.